Just one sentence

27 Jan

Daniel Pink is a brilliant man.  Pink asks the question, “What’s your sentence?”, which is perhaps the most difficult question a college student like myself could answer.  How am I supposed to explain myself in a few short lines of text?? And more importantly how could I even know myself well enough to decide what is my most defining quality?

There are so many traits that make me who I am.   I am a big sister, I am a Kansas Citian, I went to an all-girls high school,  I hate math;  The list could go on and on.  But what Daniel Pink forced me to do was take all of those qualities and more into account and decide what they truly said about me as a person.

Through this exercise I have discovered that the most important thing in my life is people, whether it be my family, my friends, co-workers, fellow students, or anyone else I come into contact with.  In the past I have been that person that many of my friends go to if they need someone to talk to.  I love hearing about other people’s lives and am always able to empathize with everyone I listen to.  So after reflecting on all of the qualities that make me who I am, I have discovered my sentence.

A good friend always willing to do anything for others.

Times may change and I might meet new people, move to new places, or even change careers five times, but I know that no matter what I do in life my love for others will never change.

One Response to “Just one sentence”

  1. asb13521 January 27, 2013 at 11:45 pm #

    I like your sentence- I think you are an excellent friend! My FAVORITE part is about the math. Ick!

Leave a Reply

